Caledonian Sleeper to Scotland

A few weeks ago I ventured to the cold, bleek but beautiful Scotland. I found that the sleeper train was about half the cost of the normal train, so that was my mode of transport.

We got to London Euston at 23.30, feeling tired but also excited for the adventure of the sleeper train. When we got to our carriage and found our seats a man told us that we have been moved to Coach H instead. So off we went up the platform, passing carriage after carriage until finally a woman stopped us and informed us that we had been upgraded to a private bunk! She didn’t say why, I didn’t dare ask.

The room was small but decent sized beds. We had access to the lounge carts but at 00.20 in the morning all I wanted to do was sleep. So I changed into my pj’s and fell asleep as soon as my head hit the pillow. One of the best nights sleep I had ever had, the only problem was the trip to Edinburgh wasn’t long enough for me to get a good night’s sleep!

Now the trip back to London wasn’t so pleasant. We weren’t upgraded, which you can’t complain about really, but once you’ve tasted the high life! The seats were comfy enough, and we were given earplugs and eye masks, but nothing could block the freezing cold air or the horrible sound the carriages made when we went around a corner. For some reason they didn’t turn the lights off in the carriage either making it extra difficult to try and sleep. For the 7 hour trip I probably slept for about 2 hours of it.

Personally I would never do the sleep again unless I had a room. It really surprised me because I don’t tend to struggle sleeping in new or unusual locations.

Leave a Reply

